Arizona Legislative District (LD) 17 includes parts of Chandler, Gilbert, and Sun Lakes. You can find out more by reading about our demographics.

In 2018, Jennifer Pawlik (D) was the leading vote-getter among three State House Candidates. On the heels of this hard fought victory, we will continue to make strides in voter registration, PC outreach, and voter engagement.

We care about Education, Affordable Housing, Voter Turnout, and electing Democrats at all levels of government who represent our values. Read more about our activity in the community in our Newsletter.

Our Leadership

Steve Weichert was elected Chair of LD 17 Democrats in November 2020. After running his own hard fought campaign for the Arizona State Senate in 2018, Steve shifted his focus and worked as the campaign manager for Jennifer Pawlik and AJ Kurdoglu in the 2020 campaign cycle. Steve’s proven leadership abilities and experience as a PC in the Lantana Canyon precinct will be crucial as we head into the 2022 election cycle and the pending redistricting process.

Born and raised in San Jose, California, Steve has called Chandler home since 2003. His passion for serving his community and improving educational opportunities in Arizona is only surpassed by a commitment to be a model husband to Maria and father to his two daughters. In his spare time, Steve and his family love spending time with extended family and friends, making music, volunteering in the community, and experiencing all the beauty that is Arizona.


In addition to our executive board, LD 17 has several standing committees to serve the needs of our community. If you are interested in serving on any of these committees, please contact us.

Voter Registration and OutreachIncrease the number of active Democratic voters in LD 17 through voter registration and voter education.
PC Recruitment and EngagementIncrease the number of PCs in each precinct and provide training and tools necessary for them to engage their neighbors.
Community OutreachIncrease LD 17’s visibility by engaging with organizations and groups within our district that share our values, including underrepresented communities, young voters, and other communities of interest.
Social Media and CommunicationsCreate and distribute relevant content to LD 17 members via social media, email, the web, and any other effective media that the committee identifies.
Data Management and Field OperationsUse voter data to create and implement an outreach strategy to engage Democrats and progressive voters via canvasses, phone banks, and other methods that the committee identifies.
FundraisingCreate fun, engaging, and effective strategies to generate the revenue needed by our organization and committees.

Our Grass Roots Activists

Precinct Committeepersons (PCs) are the most grassroots-level building block of our district. They are the driving force behind registering voters, getting out the word on candidates, and helping Democrats understand the party’s structure, process, and platform. They are the people who go out, walk neighborhoods, and connect with and activate progressive Arizonans, talking to Independent, unaffiliated, and Democratic voters alike. Elections are won or lost in precincts and PCs are vital to ensure strong Democratic support for Democratic candidates and issues.

PCs are elected during the primary election and serve a two-year term. PCs can also be appointed by their LD chair. Any registered Democrat is eligible to be a PC in the precinct where they live. PCs help make our committees successful and are eligible to be elected or appointed to the state committee, the governing body of the Arizona Democratic Party. See our LD 17 PCs.